‘Would I choose a British or Scottish passport? It’s fast becoming a reality’ | I. Jack- The Guardian

‘Would I choose a British or Scottish passport? It’s fast becoming a reality’ | I. Jack- The Guardian

The question is, would I want a Scottish passport, would it matter to me to have one? Thirty years ago, objecting to his inclusion in the Penguin Book of Contemporary British Poetry, Seamus Heaney rebuked the anthology’s editors in a celebrated little verse: “… be advised my passport’s green. / No glass of ours was ever raised / to toast the Queen.” But Scotland isn’t Ireland; its history within the UK has been almost entirely peaceable and should independence come, the monarch would continue as its head of state and the colour of its passports wouldn’t deviate from burgundy. In any case, an independent Scotland would follow the UK’s example in allowing dual citizenship, so that I could hold two passports, and in that way give some solid expression to what I think of as my national identities: British and Scottish, which otherwise are so slippery and hard to separate

Leave a Reply

